_ 3. Meechy Darko. Meech is 1/3 of one of my favourite groups: “Flatbush Zombies”. The reason I put him in my top 3 list is because of his uniqueness. His voice may be my favourite voice to ever enter the rap game. Not to mention his genius lyrics and flow. His use of high and low tones in his voice while he spits to emphasise certain words is ridiculous. He even proves himself as a producer on the track “Face Off”. The vibe that you get every time this guy spits a verse is impossible to duplicate. I highly recommend that you check out The Flatbush Zombies. My favourite tracks are: “MRAZ”, “Drama”, “Mary, Nothing Above Thee”, and “Breakfast At ePiffanies”.

2. AK. AK is ½ of another one of my favourite groups: “The Underachievers”. AK is 2nd on my list because of his flow. I listen to a lot of hip/hop, and I have never heard a flow like AK’s. It is perfection. The best part is that he makes it sound like he’s not even trying. There is nothing extremely unique about AK, but when you listen to him you’ll realise that he has perfected his style. I almost feel bad for the other member of The Underachievers, Issa Dash, because every time you listen to a song, you just want AK’s verse to come in. My favourite tracks are: “Revelations”, “My Prism”, “6th Sense”, “Herb Shuttles”, and “The Mandhi”.

1. MF  DOOM. For me, DOOM is the best of all time... hands downs. He changed the whole game with his raw, dark style of rap and production. He’s had albums on the top 10 list time and time again. His lyrics are the most innovative of any MC I’ve ever listened to. I’ve listened to the album “Madvillainy” countless times, and almost every time I listen to it, I realize the true meaning behind lyrics I thought of as being meaningless. In addition to being great at all these things, DOOM is also one of my all-time favourite producers. The complexity in some of his beats is unreal, but at the same time, the simplicity and cleanness of other beats of his is genius. My favourite tracks are: “Figaro”, “Vomitspit”, “All Caps”, “The Fine Print”, “Strange Ways”, and “Benzie Box”.




Leave a Reply.